The Dream Bear

Posted: June 12, 2012 in Comic Book, Fantasy, Webcomic
Tags: , , , , , ,

I wanted to share this watercolor I commissioned from Noel Arthur Heimpel, creator of the webcomic Ignition Zero. (Check out his Tumblr to see some of his other commissions.)

Noel’s art reminds me a lot of Bill Sienkiewicz’s at times, so I asked him to do a riff on Bill’s demon bear from the classic Claremont/Sienkiewicz “Demon Bear Saga” in New Mutants 18-21. I really like the results, especially how the bear is exhaling the Aurora Borealis.

I’ve had the digital image for a while now (he works fast!) but I just got the original in the mail, which reminded me I needed to share this. The original looks great; I have to get a nice frame for it. And now I’m tempted to commission a bigger piece. Hmmm, wonder what Noel’s take on the entire New Mutants team would be? Amara and Warlock in particular would look amazing, I bet. And Rahne in werewolf form. And Cannonball’s fire-trail. And Sunspot! Hmmmmm, this sounds like a good idea! (Yes, although it is 2012, I may in fact be stuck mentally in the late 80s/early 90s, my “formative” years.)

Which reminds me, why do I call this piece the Dream Bear if I asked for “a giant spirit demon bear” (my exact commission request)? Around the same time I was reading that classic New Mutants run, I was listening to a lot of Yes, and every time Long Distance Runaround played, I heard the line “I still remember the dream there” as, “I still remember the dream bear,” and pictured Sienkiewicz’s demon bear. Now I basically accept my version as the proper lyric.

Anyhoo, if you’re looking to commission a cool watercolor, I recommend Noel. His commission information can be found here. (Oh! I just noticed it says to not ask him to draw animals. Whoops. Well, I think the bear looks great. Sorry, Noel!)

Comments
  1. Jande says:

    That is really beautiful! Thanks for sharing it with us. (which reminds me I should send you the little comp I made of one of your Logo Designs.)

  2. lithicbee says:

    Yes, please. :) Man, I have been so busy (ok, ok, Diablo doesn’t count as busy) that I forgot about my own logo designs!

Leave a Reply

