The Only City Left: Behind The Scenes #1

Posted: May 18, 2012 in Serial, TheOnlyCityLeft, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Note: This post originally went live between Part 13 and Part 14.

Since this blog is supposed to be about the things I am interested/involved in at any given moment, today’s post is going to be about my own serial SF, The Only City Left.

When I re-started this blog, I set a goal of three posts a week, to push myself to write more and stay on a schedule. I started writing The Only City Left (TOCL) because I figured it would be a good way to take care of one of the three weekly posts.

I started the story with an idea, which was to have a fun, scary adventure through a future Earth where the entire planet is one gigantic layer-cake of a city. The setting would allow me to throw almost any fantasy or science-fiction element that I wanted into the mix. Fun would trump realism as needed. I knew that my main character, Allin, would be alone. Allin, alone, get it? Gosh, I amaze myself sometimes (not now, but sometimes). He would be in danger. And he would be trying to reach the surface of the city and see the Sun. Except for a list of all the cool things I would want in a story (sample: vampires, kung fu, robots), I had no particular outline of what would happen. I like to write this way, to discover the world and characters as I write.

I am now 13 Parts and 14,000 words or so in (Pt 13 was double-sized), with another 5,000 words in the buffer. And while I won’t say it has become more difficult to write TOCL, I will say that I am putting more care into it now. The story has come to life for me and I don’t want to give it short shrift.

So what does that mean for me? For one thing, I had to go back and do a thorough re-reading of my work recently, to take notes on the people and creatures who show up, the plot points that are hinted at, gadgets and technology that are mentioned, that sort of thing. I also discovered pieces of the story that didn’t make sense together. Yikes, only 14,000 words in and I’m contradicting myself already?

That’s okay, though (for me, at least). This is a first draft, for all that I am trying to make it a good one. So what kind of errors have I found? Here are a couple:

In Part 1, Allin narrates: “If I had a last name, I’ve forgotten it.” Ummmm, really? Later on, he is addressed by his first and last name and he doesn’t think, “So that’s my last name!” And it doesn’t make sense for him to have forgotten his last name, actually. It was fun to write at the time, but that little tidbit can and will be removed from later versions of the story.

Part 4: In the original flashback, it starts with Allin saying he was 13. This doesn’t make sense for many reasons, not the least of which is that his love for Tyena, while perhaps naive at 15, is a bit creepy and weird at 13. I’ve already changed this one on the website for any new readers who come along.

(I saw something today that made me feel better about my errors: On Peter F. Hamilton’s Facebook Wall today, he talks about an error that made it into the advanced reader’s proofs before being caught by a copy editor: “It’ll be interesting to see how many reviewers notice a minor character who gets decapitated then turns up driving a jeep a few scenes later.” Of course, his book is 1000+ pages long, but still…)

There are other items that I caught that I would not call errors so much as items that need to be explained at some point. For instance, the werewolf ghost that chases Allin interacts with his environment in a more physically destructive manner than other ghosts in the story, and he doesn’t pass through inanimate objects like the other ghosts. I’ll admit I didn’t really notice I was doing this at the time, but I have since come up with reasons for this and it actually dovetails amazingly well with the plot that is brewing. It is an example of what I like to call a “Thank you, subconscious” (TYS) moment. Yes, I do believe that sometimes my subconscious nudges me in one direction or another or outright inserts something into the story that I don’t think much about at the time, but which makes sense when I look back on it later.

With a little wiggle room going for me thanks to the 5-week buffer, I am starting to outline the “tentpole” moments in the story (a good piece of advice that Chuck Wendig recently tweeted); I am using note-cards and a bulletin board to put events in order (inspiration courtesy of Travis Kotzebue), and most importantly, I am figuring out how I want the story to end (good advice from one of my favorite comic book writers, Greg Pak). Yes, I started the story without knowing the ending. Shame on me.

Finally, I have been reading other serials on the web lately, and one of the ideas I am taking away from them is that a title banner for the story would be nice. I’m no artist, but here’s some concepts I scribbled today.

Letters as buildings, “O” as planet covered in buildings, “C” as crescent moon: 

Thin letters, “O” as planet covered in buildings, “C” as crescent moon: 

Small letters except for planet-city “O”, with crescent-moon “C” in orbit around the “O”: 

Just some ideas; not essential to the story but it might catch the eye more than the current wall of text.

Okay, so that’s a look into my TOCL-ized brain at the moment. I hope you enjoyed it and I’ll see you Sunday for Part 14 of The Only City Left!

Comments
  1. Jande says:

    I’ve adopted the idea of the corkboard, too. I learned of it in the small book “Save the Cat!” a really enjoyable step by step help with screenwriting (hey it’s sequential too!) Then I saw that both Travis and Dan Lieske use them, and was infinitely reassured that it really is a boon to any writer of novels or graphic novels. ( I have Five novels written other than Aedre’s story (which isn’t written all the way yet–though I do know how it ends) to which I’m excited about applying the corkboard).

    And yeah TYS moments…:`D I usually write a full novel on TYS with my inner editor bound and gagged for the 30 Day duration. I learned to do that at nanowrimo.org. Quite a mess to clean up afterwards but awesome good stories can come out of that process.

    Love the decapped jeep driver story! lol

    I think your design process for the logo is fascinating. And I love the loose almost comic style of them. Mind if I play around with your logo ideas a bit when I have time? I know! I’ll use the new Photoshop Touch Mal got me last night for the iPad. Wheee! (uh, that is IF you don’t mind me playing with your ideas) :`D

    btw, “short thrift” should be “short shrift”. http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/short-shrift.html Thanks, though. Had to look it up to see if I was spelling it correctly. :`D

    Thanks for this look behind the scenes of your intriguing story, Andy! <3

    • lithicbee says:

      Ha, you got me on the short thrift/short shrift thing. Gotta love the way my mind works sometimes. Hmm, Short Thrift, the used clothing store for little people?

      I’ve done Nanowrimo twice now (successfully). One of the two is one I still want to go back and re-work.

      re; the logos, sure feel free. It is not something I have a lot of time for. Just background doodling.

      • lithicbee says:

        Edit: fixed “shrift.” But the more I look at that word, the less it makes sense to me. Shrift. Shrift. It has become meaningless. :)

Leave a Reply

